- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee: or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Banks Peninsula District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Banks Peninsula District.

## 160 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the Banks Peninsula District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Banks Peninsula District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Banks Peninsula District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Banks Peninsula District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

#### **PART VIII**

#### Ashburton District

# 161 CONSTITUTION OF ASHBURTON DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Ashburton District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18088 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

#### **162 ASHBURTON DISTRICT COUNCIL**

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Ashburton District Council", is hereby constituted for the Ashburton District.

#### **163 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Ashburton Borough Council; and
- (b) The Ashburton County Council; and
- (c) The Dorie Reserve Board; and
- (d) The Ealing Reserve Board; and
- (e) The Tinwald Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Seafield Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Ruapuna Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Pendarves Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Maronan Reserve Board; and
- (j) The Hinds Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### **164 WARDS**

- (1) The Ashburton District is hereby divided into 5 wards.
- (2) Those 5 wards are:
  - (a) The Mount Hutt Ward, comprising the area delineated

- on S.O. Plan No. 18089 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (b) The Rangitata Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18090 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (c) The Ashburton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18091 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (d) The Central Rural Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18092 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (e) The Rakaia Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O Plan. No. 18093 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:

#### 165 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) Until the 10th day of October 1992, the Ashburton District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 18 members.
- (2) The members of the Ashburton District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Mount Hutt Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Rangitata Ward; and
- (c) Nine members shall be elected by the electors of the Ashburton Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Central Rural Ward; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Rakaia Ward.
- (3) The number of members of the Ashburton District Council to be elected at the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be conducted in October 1992, in addition to the Mayor, shall be 12.

### 166 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Ashburton District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Ashburton District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Ashburton County.
- (2) The first election of the Ashburton District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

#### **167 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Ashburton District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

#### **168 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Ashburton District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 182 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Ashburton District Council.

### 169 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Ashburton District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Ashburton District Council or any of the former authorities; and