(c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by that former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the Ashburton District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

175 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the Ashburton District until a new plan is approved for the Ashburton District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

176 VESTING OF PROPERTY

All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the Ashburton District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

177 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Ashburton District Council by clause 176 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Ashburton District Council".

178 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Ashburton District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Ashburton Borough Council; and
 - (b) The Ashburton County Council.

179 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The transitional committee for the Ashburton District shall consist of:
- (a) Three members appointed by the Ashburton Borough Council; and
- (b) Three members appointed by the Ashburton County Council; and
- (c) Two officers appointed by each local authority named in clause 178(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (d) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 182 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.
- (f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 178(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

180 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Ashburton District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

181 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Ashburton District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

182 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Ashburton District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Ashburton District Council.

183 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Ashburton District shall be the Ashburton County Council.

184 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Ashburton District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 178(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Ashburton District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Ashburton District.

185 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the Ashburton District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Ashburton District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Ashburton District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Ashburton District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART IX

Timaru district

186 CONSTITUTION

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Timaru District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O Plan No. 18094 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

187 TIMARU DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Timaru District Council", is hereby constituted for the Timaru District.

188 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of the order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Timaru City Council; and
- (b) The Strathallan County Council; and
- (c) The Geraldine Borough Council; and
- (d) The Temuka Borough Council; and
- (e) The Cave Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Arundel Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Orari Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Upper Waitohi Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Winchester Reserve Board; and
- (j) The Woodbury Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Rosewill Reserve Board; and