- (1) The Rangitata Reserve Board; and
- (m) Subject to Part XII of this order, the Timaru Harbour Board

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

189 WARDS

- (1) The Timaru District is hereby divided into 6 wards:
- (2) Those 6 wards are:
- (a) The Geraldine Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18095 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (b) The Pleasant Point Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18096 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District;
- (c) The Temuka Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18097 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (d) The Levels Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18098 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (e) The Caroline Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18099 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (f) The Pareora Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18100 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

190 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Timaru District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 16 members.
- (2) The members of the Timaru District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Geraldine Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Pleasant Point Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Temuka Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Levels Ward; and
- (e) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Caroline Ward; and
- (f) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Pareora Ward.

191 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Timaru District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Timaru District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Timaru City.
- (2) The first election of the Timaru District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

192 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Timaru District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council;
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

193 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Timaru District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 207 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Timaru District Council.

194 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Timaru District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Timaru District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Timaru District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boatramps and harbour facilities formerly the responsibility of the Timaru Harbour Board and transferred to the district council by Part XII of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

195 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Timaru District Council shall be located in Timaru.

196 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Timaru District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain, a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Geraldine; and
- (b) Temuka,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

197 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Geraldine Ward, to be known as "The Geraldine Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Temuka Ward, to be known as "The Temuka Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Pleasant Point Ward, to be known as "The Pleasant Point Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) The persons elected, from time to time, as members of the Timaru District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of that community, and appointed by the Timaru District Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Timaru City.
- (4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

198 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the Timaru District shall be the land value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Timaru District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Timaru District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.