authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Timaru District.

210 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the Timaru District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Timaru District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Timaru District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Timaru District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART X

Mackenzie District

211 CONSTITUTION OF MACKENZIE DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Mackenzie District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan. No. 18101 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

212 MACKENZIE DISTRICT

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Mackenzie District Council" is hereby constituted for the Mackenzie District.

213 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of the order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Mackenzie County Council; and
- (b) The Mount Nessing Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

214 WARDS

- (1) The Mackenzie District is hereby divided into 4 wards.
- (2) Those 4 wards are:
- (a) The Twizel Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O Plan No. 18102 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District;
- (b) The Tekapo Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O Plan No. 18103 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (c) The Fairlie Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O Plan No. 18104 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District:
- (d) The Albury Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O Plan No. 18105 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.

215 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Mackenzie District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 10 members.
- (2) The members of the Mackenzie District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Twizel Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Tekapo Ward; and
- (c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Fairlie Ward; and
- (d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Albury Ward.

216 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Mackenzie District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Mackenzie District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Mackenzie County.
- (2) The first election of the Mackenzie District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

217 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Mackenzie District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

218 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Mackenzie District Council shall be the person holding the position of Chief Executive of the Mackenzie County Council immediately before the coming into force of this clause.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Mackenzie District Council.

219 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Mackenzie District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under---
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Mackenzie District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Mackenzie District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authority immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

220 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community to be known as
 - "The Twizel Community", comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 18136 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Canterbury Land District.
- (2) The community board for the Twizel Community shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and $% \left(1\right) =\left(1\right) \left(1\right$
- (b) The persons elected, from time to time, as members of the Mackenzie District Council representing the ward including the area of the community, and appointed by the Mackenzie District Council to the community board.
- (3) There is hereby constituted a community for the area of the Tekapo Ward to be known as "The Tekapo Community".
- (4) The community board for the Tekapo Community shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) The persons elected, from time to time, as members of the Mackenzie District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Mackenzie District Council to the community board.
- (5) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the MacKenzie County.
- (6) The first election of the community boards for those