the basis upon which any such rate is made and levied and may, with the approval of the Local Government Commission, resolve to vary such basis.

- (2) Nothing in this clause shall apply to:
- (a) the Ashburton District Council (as constituted by Part VIII of this order); or
- (b) the Waimate District Council (as constituted by Part XI of this order).

261 ASSETS AND LIABILITIES

The provisions of section 60 of the Local Government Amendment Act (No. 2) 1989 shall apply in relation to the apportionment of the assets and liabilities of the former authorities, as defined in Parts II to XI of this order, as if this order did not make provision for the apportionment of those assets and liabilities:

Provided that there shall be no apportionment of the assets and liabilities of the Lyttelton Harbour Board or the Timaru Harbour Board pursuant to this clause.

262 LOAN LIABILITIES

Subject to section 37F(2) of the Local Government Act 1974, all loan liabilities existing immediately before the 1st day of November 1989, shall continue to be secured against the area over which they were secured at that date.

263 RESIDUAL AUTHORITIES

In the case of a former authority listed in the Seventh Schedule to this order, the local authority that shall be responsible for:

- (a) The preparation of the annual financial statement for that former authority for the financial year commencing on the 1st day of April 1989 and for any earlier financial years for which an annual financial statement has not been prepared or, in the case of the Lyttelton and Timaru Harbour Boards, for the financial year commencing on the 1st day of October 1989 and for any earlier financial years for which an annual financial statement has not been prepared; and
- (b) The documents (as defined in section 248 of the Local Government Act 1974) and local archives (as so defined) of that former authority, other than those documents or local archives, relating to a specified area or function,

shall be the local authority designated in that Schedule as a residual authority in relation to that former authority.

264 CONDUCT OF AFFAIRS

The provisions of section 223C of the Local Government Act 1974 relating to the conduct of affairs of local authorities and community boards applies to the local authorities and community boards constituted by this order.

SCHEDULES

First Schedule

PART I

Local Authorities Dissolved and Districts Abolished

Local Authorities

Canterbury United Council
Aorangi United Council
North Canterbury
Catchment Board and
Regional Water Board
South Canterbury
Catchment Board and
Regional Water Board
Waitaki Catchment Board
and Regional Water Board
Amuri County Council
Hurunui County Council
Cheviot County Council

Rangiora District Council

Oxford County Council

Districts

Canterbury Region Aorangi Region North Canterbury Catchment District

South Canterbury Catchment District

Waitaki Catchment District

Amuri County Hurunui County Cheviot County Rangiora District Oxford County Kaiapoi Borough Council Waimairi District Council Riccarton Borough Council Christchurch City Council Mount Herbert County Council Lyttelton Borough Council Heathcote County Council Malvern County Council Paparua County Council Ellesmere County Council Wairewa County Council Akaroa County Council Ashburton Borough Council Ashburton County Council Strathallan County Council Temuka Borough Council Timaru City Council Geraldine Borough Council Mackenzie County Council Waimate District Council North Canterbury Pest Destruction Board Central Canterbury Pest Destruction Board South Canterbury Pest Destruction Board Ashburton Pest Destruction Board South Canterbury Wallaby Board North Canterbury Nassella Tussock Board Wainono Drainage Board Elephant Hill River Board Lyttelton Harbour Board

Kaiapoi Borough Waimairi District Riccarton Borough Christchurch City Mount Herbert County

Lyttelton Borough Heathcote County Malvern County Paparua County Ellesmere County Wairewa County Akaroa County Ashburton Borough Ashburton County Strathallan County Temuka Borough Timaru City Geraldine Borough Mackenzie County Waimate District North Canterbury Pest Destruction District Central Canterbury Pest Destruction District South Canterbury Pest Destruction District Ashburton Pest Destruction District South Canterbury Wallaby District North Canterbury Nassella Tussock District Wainono Drainage District Elephant Hill River District Lyttelton Harbour District Timaru Harbour District

PART II

Local Authorities Dissolved

Lincoln Park Reserve Board

Timaru Harbour Board

Christchurch Drainage Board Christchurch Transport Board Waimakariri-Ashley Water Supply Board Amuri District Noxious Plants Authority Banks Peninsula District Noxious Plants Authority Malvern District Noxious Plants Authority Ellesmere District Noxious Plants Authority Cheviot District Noxious Plants Authority Christchurch City District Noxious Plants Authority Hurunui District Noxious Plants Authority Paparua District Noxious Plants Authority Rangiora District Noxious Plants Authority Ashburton District Noxious Plants Authority Strathallan District Noxious Plants Authority Mackenzie District Noxious Plants Authority Waimate District Noxious Plants Authority Le Bons Bay Reserve Board Little Akaloa Reserve Board Okains Bay Reserve Board Pigeon Bay Reserve Board Dorie Reserve Board Ealing Reserve Board Tinwald Reserve Board Seafield Reserve Board Ruapuna Reserve Board Pendarves Reserve Board Maronan Reserve Board Hinds Reserve Board Cheviot Reserve Board Mead Reserve Board Ellesmere Reserve Board