Plan No. 8378 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District.

4 GISBORNE DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority to be known as "The Gisborne District Council", is hereby constituted for the Gisborne District and Gisborne Region.

5 INTERPRETATION

(1) In this order:

"The former authorities" means—

- (a) The Waiapu County Council; and
- (b) The Waikohu County Council; and
- (c) The Cook County Council; and
- (d) The Gisborne City Council; and
- (e) The East Cape Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (f) The East Cape United Council; and
 - (g) The Gisborne Harbour Board; and
 - (h) The Hicks Bay Harbour Board; and
 - (i) The Cook District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Waikohu District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (k) The East Coast District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (I) The Waiapu District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (m) The East Coast Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (n) The Hatea A Rangi Recreation Reserve Board; and
 - (o) The Patutahi Recreation Reserve Board; and
 - (p) The Waipiro Bay Recreation Reserve Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

(2) Every reference in this scheme to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the Gisborne District and the Gisborne Region, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to the Gisborne District Council, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part, or as the case may be that function.

6 WARDS

(1) The Gisborne District is hereby divided into 11 wards.

(2) Those 11 wards are:

(a) The Matakaoa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8380 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(b) The Waiapu Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8381 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(c) The Waikohu Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8382 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(d) The Uawa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8383 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(e) The Taruheru Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8384 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(f) The Wainui Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No.8385 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(g) The Whataupoko Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8386 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(h) The Kaiti Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8387 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District: (i) The Waikanae Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8388 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(j) The Cook Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8390 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District:

(k) The Patutahi Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 8389 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District.

7 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Gisborne District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 16 members.

(2) The members of the Gisborne District Council to be elected at the first election of the district council shall be elected as follows:

(a) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Matakaoa Ward; and

(b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waiapu Ward; and

(c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waikohu Ward; and

(d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Uawa Ward; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Taruheru Ward; and

(f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Wainui Ward; and

(g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Whataupoko Ward; and

(h) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Kaiti Ward; and

(i) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Waikanae Ward; and

(j) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Cook Ward; and

 $({\bf k})$ One member shall be elected by the electors of the Patutahi Ward.

8 FIRST ELECTION

(1) The first election of the Gisborne District Council shall be held on the 14th day of October 1989.

(2) For the purposes of arranging the first election of the Gisborne District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Gisborne District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Gisborne City.

(3) The first election of the Gisborne District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

9 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Gisborne District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

10 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Gisborne District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 29 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Gisborne District Council.

11 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS OF TERRITORIAL AUTHORITY

The Gisborne District Council shall have: