- (a) The territorial authorities constituted by Parts III to VI of this order; and
- (b) In relation to any part of the Taupo District constituted by the Local Government (Waikato) Reorganisation Order 1989 that is within the Hawke's Bay Region, the Taupo District Council; and
- (c) In relation to any part of the Rangitikei District constituted by the Local Government (Manawatu-Wanganui Region) Reorganisation Order 1989 that is within the Hawke's Bay Region, the Rangitikei District Council.

5 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING DISTRICTS

- (1) Every local authority named in Part I or Part II of the First Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

6 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

- (1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.
- (2) Any reference in Part VIII of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to VI of this order.

7 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING COMMUNITY COUNCIL AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITY

- (1) The Takapau Community Council is hereby dissolved.
- (2) The Takapau Community is hereby abolished.

PART II

Hawke's Bay Regional Council

8 HAWKE'S BAY REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Hawke's Bay Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Hawke's Bay Region.

9 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means,
 - (a) The Hawke's Bay United Council; and
- (b) The Hawke's Bay Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (c) The Hawke's Bay District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (d) The Wairoa District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (e) The Waipukurau District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (f) The Waipawa District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (g) The Hawke's Bay Pest Destruction Board; and
- (h) Subject to Part VII of this order, The Hawke's Bay Harbour Board; and
- (i) The South-east Coast North Island Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (j) The Tongariro United Council; and
 - (k) The Taupo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (I) The Central North Island Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (m) The Manawatu United Council; and
- (n) The Dannevirke-Woodville Noxious Plants Authority, and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.
- "Former Hawke's Bay Region" means the Hawke's Bay

Region in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order; and

"Hawke's Bay Region" means the Hawke's Bay Region constituted by this order.

10 CONSTITUENCIES

- (1) The Hawke's Bay Region is hereby divided into 5 constituencies.
- (2) Those 5 constituencies are:
- (a) The Wairoa Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9853 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:
- (b) The Napier Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9855 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:
- (c) The Ngaruroro Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9854 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:
- (d) The Hastings Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9856 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:
- (e) The Central Hawke's Bay Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9857 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District.

11 MEMBERSHIP

The Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall consist of 14 members, of whom:

- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Wairoa Constituency; and
- (b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Napier Constituency; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Ngaruroro Constituency; and
- (d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Hastings Constituency; and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Central Hawke's Bay Constituency.

12 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council:
- (a) The Returning Officer for the Wairoa Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Wairoa District; and
- (b) The Returning Officer for the Napier Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Napier City; and
- (d) The Returning Officer for the Ngaruroro Constituency and the Hastings Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Hastings City; and
- (e) The Returning Officer for the Central Hawke's Bay Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Waipukurau District.
- (2) The first election of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

13 FIRST MEETING

- (1) The principal administrative officer of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council:
 - (a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and
- (b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.
- (2) The first meeting of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

14 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council