29 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Hawke's Bay Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

30 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Hawke's Bay Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Hawke's Bay Regional Council.

31 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Hawke's Bay Region shall be the Hawke's Bay United Council.

32 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The costs of the transitional committee for the Hawke's Bay Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 26(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula— $\!\!\!\!$

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988 bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.

(2) For the purpose of this clause, the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the Hawke's Bay Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the Hawke's Bay Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

33 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the Hawke's Bay Region shall meet with:

(a) Each of the other transitional committees specified in this order; and

(b) The Wairoa District Council,

for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Hawke's Bay Regional Council by this order.

PART III

Wairoa District

34 CONSTITUTION OF WAIROA DISTRICT

- (1) There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as
- "The Wairoa District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9817 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District.

35 WAIROA DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Wairoa District Council", is hereby constituted for the Wairoa District.

36 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means—

- (a) The former Wairoa District Council; and
- (b) The Whakaki Drainage Board; and

(c) The Kotemaori Domain Board, and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named above in this clause.

"Former Wairoa District" means the Wairoa District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order;

"Former Wairoa District Council" means the Wairoa District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order;

"The Wairoa District" means the Wairoa District constituted by this order;

"The Wairoa District Council" means the Wairoa District Council constituted by this order.

37 WARDS

(1) The Wairoa District is hereby divided into 5 wards:

(2) Those 5 wards are:

(a) The Wairoa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9821 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:

(b) The Tuhara-Frasertown Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9820 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:

(c) The Mohaka-Waiau Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9819 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:

(d) The Mahia-Nuhaka Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9818 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Hawke's Bay Land District:

(e) The Waikaremoana-Ruakituri Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 9860 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Gisborne Land District.

38 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Wairoa District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 9 members.

(2) The members of the Wairoa District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Wairoa Ward; and

(b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Tuhara-Frasertown Ward; and

(c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Mohaka-Waiau Ward; and

(d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Mahia-Nuhaka Ward; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waikaremoana-Ruakituri Ward.

39 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Wairoa District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Wairoa District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Wairoa District.

(2) The first election of the Wairoa District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

40 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Wairoa District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

41 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Wairoa District Council shall be the person holding the position of District Manager for the former Wairoa District Council immediately before the coming into effect of this order.