

The New Zealand Gazette

WELLINGTON: FRIDAY, 26 JANUARY 1990 — ISSUE NO. 10

NEW YEAR HONOURS 1990

His Excellency the Governor-General has announced that The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of New Year, to confer the following honours:

CIVII LIST

THE ORDER OF THE COMPANIONS OF HONOUR

C.H.

To be a Member of the said Order:

The Right Honourable David Russell LANGE, M.P., of Wellington. Attorney-General and Minister of State, lately Prime Minister of New Zealand.

KNIGHTS BACHELOR

The Honourable (Thomas) Kerry BURKE, M.P., of Greymouth. Speaker of the House of Representatives.

The Honourable (Mr Justice) Muir Fitzherbert CHILWELL, of Auckland. Judge of the High Court.

Brian George Conway ELWOOD, C.B.E., J.P., of Wellington. For services to local government.

James Thompson GRAHAM, c.m.g., of Mt Maunganui. For services to the dairy industry.

THE MOST DISTINGUISHED ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE

C.M.G.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

John William HODGETTS, of Auckland. For services to the building industry and the community.

Colin Isaac PATTERSON, of Wellington. Chairman of the Securities Commission.

THE MOST EXCELLENT ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (Civil Division)

D.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Dame Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miraka Petricevich, Mrs SZASZY, C.B.E., J.P., of Kaitaia. For services to the community.

K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Monita Eru DELAMERE, J.P., of Opotiki. For services to the Maori people.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Professor David Killoch BLACKMORE, of Palmerston North. For services to veterinary science.

Patrick Ledger GOODMAN, of Motueka. For services to business management and the community.

Colin Milton KAY, J.P., of Auckland. For services to local government, sport and the community.

Edmund Binney LOCK, of Christchurch. For services to journalism.

Professor William Hosking OLIVER, of Wellington. For services to historical research.

Pauline Margaret O'REGAN (Sister Pauline O'Regan), of Christchurch. For services to education and the community.

Professor Emeritus Marion Frances ROBINSON, of Dunedin. For services to nutrition education and research.