Iona, Mrs WILLIAMS, O.B.E., J.P., of Dunedin. For services to local government, education and the community.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Ian William Gore COCHRANE, of Wellington. For services to the arts.

Dr Barry Mitchell DALLAS, J.P., of Greymouth. For services to local government and the community.

Joan Elsa, Mrs DONLEY, of Auckland. For services to midwifery.

Bernard John DRAKE, of Christchurch. For services to sport and the community.

Dr Albert James ELLIS, of Lower Hutt. Lately Director-General, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

John Charles FAIR, of Wellington. For services to petroleum industry and the community.

Alan Keith FAMILTON, of Wellington. For services to forestry.

Dr Eric John GODLEY, of Christchurch. For services to botany.

Walter HIRSH, of Auckland. Lately Race Relations Conciliator.

John Dempsey O'SHEA, of Wellington. For services to the film industry.

Dr Margaret Stuart SMITH, of Christchurch. For services to medicine and the community.

(William) Kendrick SMITHYMAN, of Auckland. For services to literature.

Rex George STEWART, of Christchurch. For services to the wool industry.

Rawson (Ross) WRIGHT, J.P., of Wellsford. For services to the Maori people and community.

Professor Frederick John Lenane YOUNG, of Raumati South. For services to industrial relations.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Tamati (Thomas) Pawa BAILEY, J.P., of Motueka. For services to the community.

Vera Esther, Mrs BURT, of Auckland. For services to sport, especially women's hockey and the community.

Ewen John CHATFIELD, of Lower Hutt. For services to cricket.

Terence John DUNLEAVY, of Auckland. For services to the wine industry and the community.

Geoffrey Millis FINDLEY, J.P., of Invercargill. For services to agriculture.

George McMurray FULLER, of New Plymouth. For services to horticulture.

Alfred William GALLAGHER, of Hamilton. For services to the community.

Frank Jackson Lamont GURR, of Wellington. For services to music

Iranui Teaonohoriu, Mrs HAIG, of Tokomaru Bay. For services to the Maori people.

John Esmond HARTSTONGE, J.P., of Upper Hutt. For services to tourism and the community.

Joseph John HINTON, J.P., of Auckland. For services to local body and community affairs.

Elizabeth Mary Ann, Mrs JACKSON, of Dunedin. For services to the Order of St John and the community.

Elspeth Cantlie, Mrs KENNEDY, of Nelson. For services to tourism.

Kenneth William KERSLEY, of Lower Hutt. Counsel to the Parliamentary Counsel Office.

Alistair George MALCOLM, of Christchurch. For services to fruitgrowing industry and the community.

John Wardell MALCOLMSON, of Plimmerton. For services to engineering.

Margharet Norma, Mrs MATENGA, of Rarotonga, Cook Islands (formerly of Wellington). For services to netball.

Mata Te Hoturoa MOREHU, J.P., of Rotorua. For services to the Maori people.

Basil David PARKES, of Tuamarina, Marlborough. For services to farming.

Ivor Rudolph POWELL, J.P., of Dunedin. For services to trade union affairs.

Kathleen Priscilla, Mrs RANGI, of New Plymouth. For services to the community.

Colin Harry RUSSELL, of Christchurch. For services to tertiary education and the community.

Maureen Mary, Mrs SEIPOLT, J.P., of Tokoroa. For services to the community.

Norma Anthony THORN, of Alexandra. For services to brass bands.

Alexander Reid VEYSEY, of Raumati Beach. For services to journalism.

Nesslea Quentin WRIGHT, of Sheffield, Canterbury. For services to agriculture.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE ORDER Q.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Community Service:

The Reverend William Selwyn DAWSON, of Auckland.

Joseph de Valley McMANEMIN, C.B.E., J.P., of Auckland.

Erihapeti Rehu, Mrs MURCHIE, of Wanganui.

Harata Riateuira, Mrs SOLOMON, of Porirua.

Eileen Norma, Mrs WALDING, of Palmerston North.

Q.S.O.

To be Companions of the said Order for Public Services:

The Right Honourable John Bowie GORDON, of Tapanui, Otago.

Dr Reginald Henry James HAMLIN, O.B.E., of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Hugh Wilson HAYWARD, M.B.E., J.P., of Ngatea, Hauraki Plains.

Ian Anthony JOHNSTONE, of Lower Hutt.

John Baldwin MUNRO, of Lower Hutt.

James Alexander ROSS, of Waikanae. Lately Principal Educational Consultant, Department of Education.

Jennifer Daphne, Mrs SIMPSON, of Inglewood.

John James TERRIS, J.P., of Lower Hutt. Chairman of Committees, House of Representatives.

The Honourable Venn Spearman YOUNG, M.P., of Hawera.

THE QUEEN'S SERVICE MEDAL FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE

Q.S.M.

Rachel, Mrs ALBERT, of Auckland.

Michael John ANDREW, of Christchurch.

Barbara Staples, Mrs ARCHER, of Palmerston North.

Joseph Thomas BARTLE, of Stoke, Nelson.