## **Government Notice**

## **Local Government Act 1974**

## The Local Government (Invercargill City) Reorganisation Order 1990

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 2nd day of July 1990

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 37zzs of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

## Order

- **1. Title and commencement**—(1) This order may be cited as the Local Government (Invercargill City) Reorganisation Order 1990.
- (2) Subject to subclause (3) of this clause, this order shall come into force on the 2nd day of July 1990.
- **2.** Constitution of Invercargill City—There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "the Invercargill City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11471 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District.
- **3. Invercargill City Council**—A territorial authority to be known as "the Invercargill City Council", is hereby constituted for the Invercargill City.
- **4.** Dissolution of existing Invercargill District and abolition of existing Invercargill District Council—(1) The Invercargill District (constituted under Part III of the Local Government (Southland Region) Reorganisation Order 1989\*) is hereby abolished.
- (2) The Invercargill District Council (constituted under Part III of the Local Government (Southland Region) Reorganisation Order 1989) is hereby dissolved.
- (3) Part III of the Local Government (Southland Region) Reorganisation Order 1989 in respect of the Invercargill District is hereby revoked.
- **5. Bush Community**—The Bush Community, constituted by this order, shall come into existence on the day after the date on which the returning officer declares the result of the first election of members of the Bush Community Board.
- **6.** Interpretation—In this order, the "former authorities" means the Invercargill District Council and includes, where any functions, duties, powers, assets, liabilities, or obligations have not been or have not been fully transferred to the Invercargill District Council under the Local Government (Southland Region) Reorganisation Order 1989,
  - (a) The Invercargill City Council; and
  - (b) The Bluff Borough Council; and
  - (c) The Southland County Council; and
  - (d) Subject to Part VI of the Local Government (Southland Region) Reorganisation Order 1989, the Southland Harbour Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

- **7. Wards**—(1) The Invercargill City is hereby divided into 9 wards.
- (2) Those 9 wards are:

- (a) The Northern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11476 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (b) The Gladstone Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11477 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (c) The Glengarry Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11478 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (d) The Central Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11475 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (e) The Strathern Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11480 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (f) The Kew Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11473 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (g) The Otatara Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11474 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (h) The Bluff Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11472 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District:
- (i) The Bush Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 11479 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Southland Land District.
- **8. Membership**—(1) The Invercargill City Council shall consist of a mayor and 15 members.
- (2) The members of the Invercargill City Council shall be elected as follows:
  - (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Northern Ward; and
  - (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Gladstone Ward; and
  - (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Glengarry Ward; and
  - (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Central Ward; and
  - (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Strathern Ward; and
  - (f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Kew Ward; and
  - (g) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Otatara Ward; and
  - (h) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Bluff Ward; and
  - (i) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Bush Ward.
- (3) Those members of the Invercargill District Council who were elected on the 14th day of October 1989 shall continue in office as members of the Invercargill City Council until the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be held in October 1992 or unless he or she sooner vacates office.
- **9. First meeting**—The first meeting of the Invercargill City Council:
  - (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that council.
  - (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of July 1990.
- 10. Administration headquarters—The administration