# **Defence**

# **Defence Act 1990**

# Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 32 of the Defence Act 1990, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

#### **REGULAR AIR FORCE**

#### General Duties Branch

#### **Appointments**

Squadron Leader D. J. Forrest to be temporary Wing Commander with effect from 5 March 1990.

Squadron Leader K. F. Byrne to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 10 December 1989 and temporary Wing Commander with effect from 20 December 1989.

Flight Lieutenant M. G. McCathie to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 8 January 1990.

Captain Peter John Amyes, RNZE, is appointed to the Regular Air Force in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 14 June 1989 and effect from 12 March 1990.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from the date shown and effect from 15 December 1989:

Donn Christopher Baker, B.E.(HONS), 9 June 1988.

Steven John Dean, B.SC., 9 September 1988.

Timothy Samuel Seaton Donaldson, B.Sc., 9 September 1988.

Andrew James Drummond, B.SC., 8 September 1989.

Callum William MacLeod, B.SC., 9 September 1988.

Andrew James Niles, B.SC., 9 September 1989.

Grant Redvers Withers, B.SC., 9 September 1989.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 3 May 1989 and effect from 25 August 1989:

Alexander Dane Fea.

Anthony Frank Fesche.

Stephen Richard Houghton.

Susan Leigh Jones.

Ian James MacPherson.

Philip Otene Rakena.

Derek Ross Singer.

Keven Richard Studd.

James Roger Heathfield Turner.

Michael Herman van Klei.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 29 August 1989 and effect from 15 December 1989:

Ian Edward Davie-Martin.

Bryan John Moore.

## Promotions

Squadron Leader J. H. Seward to be Wing Commander with seniority from 1 December 1988 and effect from 1 December 1989.

Flight Lieutenant H. B. Keightley to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 4 April 1990.

The following to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the date shown:

Flying Officer B. W. Brownlee, 9 January 1990.

Flying Officer P. R. King, 9 January 1990.

Flying Officer R. J. Logan, 9 January 1990.

Flying Officer C. J. Park, 9 January 1990.

Temporary Flight Lieutenant T. M. D. Tomoana, 9 January 1990.

Flying Officer G. L. Sycamore, N.Z.C.E., 31 January 1990.

Flying Officer M. G. Jones, 30 April 1990.

Flying Officer A. P. Mudgway, 30 April 1990.

Flying Officer P. G. Murray, 30 April 1990.

Flying Officer S. G. Trethewey, 30 April 1990.

#### Adjustment of Seniority

The seniority of Flying Officer R. J. Anderson, B.SC.(HONS), is antedated to  $10\ \text{June}\ 1987.$ 

#### Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader W. K. L. MacGregor is extended until 21 July 1997.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

Squadron Leader H. H. Francis: the notice published in the *Gazette*, 5 October 1989, No. 176, page 4850, is cancelled.

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader H. J. Moffat, A.F.C., are extended until 26 June 1992.

#### Transfer

Pilot Officer J. L. Harding is transferred to the Administrative and Supply Branch, Supply Division, in his present rank and seniority with effect from 1 July 1989, and to Special Duties Division with effect from 15 September 1989.

#### Transfers to Reserve

The following are transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers with effect from the date shown:

### Wing Commanders

William John Sommer, B.SC., 7 November 1989.

Brian Neil Phillips, A.F.C., 17 February 1990.

#### Squadron Leaders

Mark Robert Howard Jenkins, 3 February 1990.

Edwin Dale Webb, B.COM., 9 April 1990.

Paul Anthony O'Reilly, 17 February 1990.

Gavin Robert Leckner, M.B.E., 9 January 1990.

Michael Keith Adair, DIP.PHYS.ED., DIP.TCHG., 29 January 1990.

# Flight Lieutenants

Kevin William Sims, 2 March 1990.

Larry Ronald Price, 25 November 1989.

Mark Gerard Woodhouse, 21 December 1989.

Mark Edward Delany, 1 March 1990.

#### Transfers to Retired List

The following are transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from the date shown:

Air Vice-Marshal Albert Edward Thomson, C.B.E., A.F.C., 16 December 1989.

Air Commodore Geoffrey Charles Hubbard, O.B.E., 13 February 1990.

Squadron Leader Lindley Jon Robert Francis, 2 May 1990.