- 4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.
  - Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Vice-Chancellor shall be five consecutive 4 year terms.
- 5. The powers of the Lincoln University Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of September 1990. PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education.

## Manukau Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice:

## Notice

- (a) This notice may be cited as the Manukau Polytechnic Notice 1990.
  - (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette.
- There shall be a council to be known as the Manukau Polytechnic Council which shall control Manukau Polytechnic.
- 3. The Manukau Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
  - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Manukau Polytechnic.
  - (c) One member who shall be a permanent member of the academic staff of the Manukau Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the permanent members of that staff.
  - (d) One member who shall be a permanent member of the general staff of the Manukau Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the permanent members of that staff.
  - (e) One member who is or has been a student of the Manukau Polytechnic and who shall, if the students at Manukau Polytechnic decide, be appointed by the Manukau Polytechnic Students' Association (Inc) or otherwise be elected by the students at Manukau Polytechnic.
  - (f) One member appointed by the Auckland Employers' Association Incorporated.
  - (g) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions (Auckland District).
  - (h) One member appointed by the Manukau City Council.
  - (i) One member appointed by the Council of the University of Auckland.
  - (j) One member who is a secondary school board of trustees member appointed by the Northern Region of the Schools Trustees' Association.
  - (k) One member appointed by the Auckland Branch of the New Zealand Society of Accountants.
  - (I) One member appointed by the Auckland Branch of the Institution of Professional Engineers of New Zealand (Inc).
  - (m) One member who shall be a nurse appointed by the Auckland Area Health Board.
  - (n) One member appointed by Manukau Polytechnic's Maori Advisory Committee.
  - (o) One member appointed by Manukau Polytechnic's Pacific Island Advisory committee.
  - (p) Not more than two members may be co-opted by the council itself, if and when it thinks fit.
- 4. Employees of Manukau Polytechnic may not be appointed

- as members of the council under paragraphs (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), (n), (o), and (p) of clause 3.
- The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.
  - Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer shall be three consecutive 4 year terms.
- The powers of the Manukau Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of September 1990. PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go10405

## **Hutt Valley Polytechnic Notice 1990**

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice:

## Notice

- (a) This notice may be cited as the Hutt Valley Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- There shall be a council to be known as the Hutt Valley Polytechnic Council which shall govern the Hutt Valley Polytechnic.
- 3. The Hutt Valley Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
  - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Hutt Valley Polytechnic.
  - (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of the Hutt Valley Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
  - (d) One permanent member of the general staff of the Hutt Valley Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
  - (e) One member who is or has been a student of the Hutt Valley Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Hutt Valley Polytechnic and who shall be appointed by the Hutt Valley Polytechnic Students' Association (Inc).
  - (f) One member appointed by the Council of the Hutt Valley Polytechnic after consultation with New Zealand Employers' Federation.
  - (g) One member appointed by the Council of the Hutt Valley Polytechnic, after consultation with the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.
  - (h) One member appointed by the Wellington Branch of the New Zealand Society of Accountants.
  - (i) One member appointed by the Wellington Branch of the New Zealand Institution of Professional Engineers.
  - (j) One member appointed by Te Runganganui o Taranaki Whanui o te Upoko o te ika a Maui.
  - (k) One member appointed by the Lower Hutt City Council.
  - (1) Up to two members co-opted by the Council of the Hutt Valley Polytechnic if and when it thinks fit.
- 4. A member of the polytechnic staff may not be appointed, elected or co-opted as a member of the council other than by the provisions of Clause 2 (c) or 2 (d).
- The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.
  - Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer shall be two consecutive 4 year terms.