close on 30 September 1990 and cease to be established on that day.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of September 1990.

P. B. GOFF, Minister of Education. go10644

Education Amendment Act 1990

University of Waikato Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the University of Waikato Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the University of Waikato Council which shall control the University of Waikato.
- 3. The University of Waikato Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Waikato.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of the University of Waikato elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of the University of Waikato elected by the permanent members of that staff.
 - (e) The President of the Waikato Students' Union.
- (f) One member appointed by the Council of the University of Waikato after consultation with the central organisation of employers under the Labour Relations Act 1987.
- (g) One member appointed by the Council of the University of Waikato after consultation with the central organisation of workers under the Labour Relations Act 1987.
- (h) One member appointed on the nomination of Dame Te Atairangikaahu.
- (i) One member appointed on the nomination of the lwi/ University Consultative Council.
- (j) One person appointed by the other tertiary institutions in the catchment area of the University of Waikato acting through the Forum of Regional Tertiary Education (FORTE) group.
 - (k) One member appointed by the Hamilton City Council.
- (I) Two members elected by and from the Academic Board of the University of Waikato.
- (m) Two graduates of any university in New Zealand or elsewhere elected by the Court of Convocation of the University of Waikato.
- (n) One member elected by the Boards of Trustees of the secondary schools in the catchment area of the University of Waikato.
- (o) One of the student members of the Academic Board of the University of Waikato co-opted by the Council on the advice of those members.
- 4. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in section 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.
- Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Vice-Chancellor, shall be five four year terms.
- 5. The powers of the University of Waikato Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of September 1990. PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education.

go10659

The Waikato Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as The Waikato Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as The Waikato Polytechnic Council which shall control The Waikato Polytechnic.
- 3. The Waikato Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of The Waikato Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of The Waikato Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of The Waikato Polytechnic by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of The Waikato Polytechnic elected by the students of the Polytechnic.
- (f) One member to represent the interests of employers; appointed by the Auckland Provincial Employers Association, after consultation with the Waikato Manufacturers Association and the New Zealand Employers Federation.
- (g) One member to represent the interests of employees; appointed by the Waikato District Council of the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One member to represent the interests of the community; appointed by the Hamilton Council of Social Services after consultation with such Waikato community groups as may be determined from time to time by the Hamilton Council of Social Maori Council.
- (i) One member to represent the interests of the Maori people; appointed by the Tainui Trust Board after consultation with the Waikato-Maniapoto District Maori Council.
- (j) One member to represent the interests of Maori women; who shall be resident in the region serviced by the Polytechnic, appointed by the Maori Women's Welfare League (Inc.)
- (k) One member to represent the interests of Women; appointed by the National Council of Women (Hamilton Branch) after consultation with such Waikato Women's groups as may be determined from time to time by the National Council of Women (Hamilton Branch).
- (I) One member to represent the interests of primary industry; appointed by the Federated Farmers of New Zealand (Waikato Provincial District Inc.) after consultation with the Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture (Waikato District Council) plus any other primary industry groups as determined from time to time by the Federated Farmers (Waikato Provincial District Inc.).
- (m) One member to represent the interests of Hamilton City appointed by the Hamilton City Council.
- (n) One member chosen for his/her knowledge of financial management and accounting; appointed by the Waikato Bay of Plenty Branch of New Zealand Society of Accountants.
- (o) One member chosen for his/her knowledge of building design and construction; appointed by the Waikato Bay of Plenty Branch of the Institution of Professional Engineers NZ (Inc.) after consultation with the Waikato branches of the NZ