27 SEPTEMBER

Community Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Wairarapa Community Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of Wairarapa Community Polytechnic.

- (f) One member appointed by the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council after consultation with the Wairarapa Business Development Centre to represent employers and regional special purpose authorities.
- (g) One member appointed by the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council, after consultation with the Wairarapa Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One member appointed by the Masterton District Council after consultation with the Masterton Trust Lands Trust.
- (i) Two members, one of whom shall be a woman, appointed by the Carterton and South Wairarapa District Councils after consultation with the Kuranui College Board of Trustees, Community Boards and non-formal education groups, as determined from time to time by the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council. The members shall reside in the region serviced by these organisations.
- (j) One member appointed by the Tararua District Council after consultation with the Tararua College Board of Trustees, the Eketahuna Community Board, the Pahiatua Community Board and non-formal education groups, as determined from time to time by the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council. The members shall reside in the region serviced by these organisations.
- (k) One member appointed by the Wairarapa Maori Executive/Taiwhenua.
- (I) One member, who shall reside in the region serviced by the Polytechnic, appointed by the Maori Women's Welfare League (Inc).
- (m) One member appointed by non-formal educational groups within the areas serviced by the Masterton District Council, as determined from time to time by the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council.
- (n) One member who shall be a woman, appointed by the National Council of Women (Wairarapa) Inc. after consultation with early childhood and parent education groups in the Wairarapa.
- (o) One member appointed jointly by the Taratahi Agricultural Training Centre and the Federated Farmers of New Zealand, Wairarapa Provisional District Inc.
- (p) One member elected by the governing bodies of the schools specified in the First Schedule to this notice.
- 4. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive four year terms.

5. The powers of the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

First Schedule

The Governing Bodies of Schools as referred to in subclause 3 (p) of this Notice are as follows:

Chanel College Makora College Rathkeale College St Mathew's Collegiate School for Girls Solway College Wairarapa College Dated at Wellington this 27th day of September 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go10671

Southland Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Natice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Southland Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Southland Polytechnic Council which shall control the Southland Polytechnic.
- 3. The Southland Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Southland Polytechnic.
- (c) Two permanent members of the academic staff of Southland Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Southland Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Southland Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Southland Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of Southland Polytechnic.
- (f) One member appointed by the Southland Polytechnic Council after consultation with the NZ Employers' Association and local employer groups.
- (g) One person appointed by the Southland Polytechnic Council after consultation with the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions and the local worker groups.
- (h) One person appointed by the Southland Polytechnic Maori advisory committee after consultation with the local Tangata Whenua in the Murihiku region.
- (i) One person elected by the Council of the University of Otago.
- (j) One person elected by the Principals of the Southland Secondary Schools listed in the First Schedule to this notice.
- (k) One person appointed by the Southland Polytechnic Off-Campus Committees listed in the Second Schedule to this notice, to represent rural education interest.
- (I) One person elected by the Southland Branch of the NZ Society of Accountants to represent the business sector.
- (m) One person appointed by the professional groups listed in the Third Schedule to this notice to represent the industrial sector.
- (n) Not more than three persons co-opted by the Council itself, if and when it thinks fit.
- 4. With the exception of clause 1 (a) every member of the Southland Polytechnic Council shall reside in the land district of Southland.
- 5. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive four year terms.

6. The powers of the Southland Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

5