- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council which shall control the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic.
- 3. The Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
- (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic.
- (c) One member appointed by the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council after consultation with the NZ Council of Trade Unions.
- (d) One member appointed by the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council after consultation with the Auckland Employers' Association Inc.
- (e) One permanent member of the academic staff of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (f) One permanent member of the general staff of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (g) One member who is or has been a student of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic, who shall represent the students of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic.
- (h) One member representing Maori communities and who shall be appointed by the Tauranga Moana District Maori Council.
- (i) One member appointed by the National Council of Women, Tauranga Branch.
- (j) One member representing the Bay of Plenty Fruitgrowers Associations and appointed by their Fruit Advisory Committee.
- (k) One member representing the farming communities and appointed by Federated Farmers NZ (Bay of Plenty Province Inc).
- (I) One member appointed by the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council after consultation with the legal fraternity as listed in the First Schedule of this notice.
- (m) One member appointed by the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council after consultation with the financial community as listed in the Second Schedule to this notice.
- (n) Up to two members may be co-opted by the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council if and when it thinks fit, taking into account the specific needs of Bay of Plenty Polytechnic.
- 4. The terms of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173-176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive 4 year terms.

5. The powers of the Bay of Plenty Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

First Schedule

The Legal Fraternity as referred to in subclause 3 (1) of this notice is as follows:

Waikato/Bay of Plenty District Law Society Barristers and Solicitors practising in the Western Bay of Plenty

Second Schedule

The Financial Community as referred to in subclause $3\ (m)$ of this notice is as follows:

Tauranga Chamber of Commerce Tauranga Sub branch NZ Society of Accountants

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go11151

Northland Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Northland Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Northland Polytechnic Council which shall control the Northland Polytechnic.
- 3. The Northland Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Northland Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Northland Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Northland Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Northland Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Northland Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the Students Association of Tai Tokerau.
- (f) One member appointed by the Northland Polytechnic Council after consultation with the New Zealand Employers' Federation.
- (g) One member appointed by the Northland Polytechnic Council after consultation with the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One member appointed by an electoral college comprising the local branches of Federated Farmers of New Zealand, Country Women's Institute, Women's Division of Federated Farmers, Young Farmers Clubs, and the Fruitgrowers Federation of New Zealand.
- (i) One member, being a resident in the region serviced by the Whangarei District Council, appointed by that Council.
- (j) One member, being a resident in the region serviced by the Far North District Council appointed by that Council.
- (k) One member, being a resident in the region serviced by the Kaipara District Council, appointed by that Council.
- (I) One member, appointed by the Tai Tokerau District Maori Council in consultation with Tai Tokerau Iwi Transition Agency.
- (m) One member, appointed by the Tai Tokerau Maori Women's Welfare League.
- (n) Up to 4 members to be co-opted by the Northland Polytechnic Council if and when it thinks fit taking into account the specific needs of the Northland Polytechnic, its unique character, and the gender, ethnic and social-economic composition of the Northland community.
- 4. The terms of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive 4-year terms.