5. The powers of the Northland Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education.

Aoraki Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Aoraki Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Aoraki Polytechnic Council which shall control the Aoraki Polytechnic.
- 3. The Aoraki Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Aoraki Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Aoraki Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Aoraki Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Aoraki Polytechnic, who shall represent the students of Aoraki Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of Aoraki Polytechnic.
- (f) One member appointed by the South Canterbury Chamber of Commerce in association with the Canterbury Employers' Association.
- (g) One member appointed by the Council of Trade Unions, South Canterbury.
- (h) One member appointed by Federated Farmers, South Canterbury Province.
- (i) One member representative of the Tangata Whenua appointed by the Arowhenua Maori Committee.
- (j) Not more than 4 members co-opted by the Council, if and when it thinks fit.
- 4. The terms of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173-176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive 4-year terms.

5. The powers of the Aoraki Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go11159

Manawatu Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Manawatu Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Manawatu Polytechnic Council which shall control the Manawatu Polytechnic.

- 3. The Manawatu Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Manawatu Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Manawatu Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Manawatu Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Manawatu Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Manawatu Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of Manawatu Polytechnic.
- (f) One member appointed by the Iwi of the Tangatawhenua in the region served by the Polytechnic.
- (g) One member appointed by the Manawatu Employers' Association.
- (h) One member appointed by the Manawatu District Council of Trade Unions.
- (i) Three members nominated by any member of the public following advertisements in the local newspapers. These will be elected by a College of Electors as listed in the First Schedule to this notice, each of whom shall have the right of one vote for each of the three vacancies. The Council shall have the power to amend the membership of the College of Electors as it sees fit.
- (j) Not more than four members to be co-opted by the Manawatu Polytechnic Council if and when it sees fit.
- 4. Permanent employees of the Manawatu Polytechnic may not be appointed, elected or co-opted as members of the Council under paragraphs (e), (f), (g), (h), (i) and (j) of clause 3
- 5. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be four consecutive four year terms, provided that the Council may coopt a member who has served under paragraphs (a) (f) (g) (h) or (i) of clause 3 for a further single term of 4 years.

6. The powers of the Manawatu Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

First Schedule

5

The College of Electors as referred to in subclause 3 (i) to this notice will be Manawatu branches where appropriate and are as follows:

NZ Institute of Chemistry Inc

The Institution of Professional Engineers NZ (Inc)

NZ Institute of Architects

NZ Institute of Agricultural Science (Inc)

NZ Institute of Food Science and Technology

Manawatu Wanganui Area Health Board

NZ Medical Association

Master Builders' Association

Engineering Employers' Association

Federated Farmers of NZ (Inc.)

Women's Division of Federated Farmers

Country Women's Institute

NZ Nurses' Association

Maori Nurses' Council

Adult Reading and Learning Assistance