(i) One member appointed by the Taranaki branch of the New Zealand Institution of Professional Engineers of NZ.

 $(j)\ One\ member\ appointed\ by the Taranaki Maori Trust Board.$ 

(k) One member appointed by the Taranaki Regional Council.

(1) One member appointed by the Taranaki branch of Federated Farmers of New Zealand (Inc.).

(m) One member representing health services in the region appointed by the Taranaki Polytechnic Health Services Advisory Committee.

(n) One member elected by the Boards of Trustees of the secondary schools listed in the First Schedule to this notice.

(o) Up to three members co-opted by the Taranaki Polytechnic Council, as and when it sees fit.

4. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive 4-year terms.

5. The powers of the Taranaki Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

## **First Schedule**

The boards of Trustees of secondary schools referred to in subclause 3 (n) of this notice are as follows:

New Plymouth Boys' High School New Plymouth Girls' High School Spotswood College Sacred Heart College Francis Douglas Memorial College Waitara High School Okato College Opunake High School Inglewood High School Stratford High School St Mary's Diocesan School for Girls Hawera High School Patea High School Waverley Area School Ohura Area School

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go11760

## Nelson Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

## Notice

1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Nelson Polytechnic Notice 1990.

(b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.

2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Nelson Polytechnic Council which shall control the Nelson Polytechnic.

3. The Nelson Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:

(a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.

(b) The Chief Executive Officer of Nelson Polytechnic.

(c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Nelson Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.

(d) One permanent member of the general staff of Nelson Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.

(e) One student representative, who, at the time of election/ appointment is either a student or or has been a student of Nelson Polytechnic and who shall be either appointed by a Students Association recognised by the Polytechnic Council or elected by the students, as the students so decide.

(f) One member appointed jointly by the Regional Employers' Associations, covering the Nelson and Marlborough regions.

(g) One appointed jointly by the Nelson and Marlborough CTU District Councils.

(h) Two members, resident in Marlborough, elected by an electoral college as listed in the First Schedule to this notice. The Council shall have the right to amend this Schedule from time to time as it sees fit.

(i) One member representing the Maori interests appointed by Te Runanganui o Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka a Maui.

(j) One Womens representative to be elected by Associations, Incorporated Societies or Trusts of Nelson and Marlborough regional womens organisations in an electoral college convened by the Nelson and Marlborough branches of the National Council of Women.

(k) Up to five members co-opted by the Nelson Polytechnic Council as and when it sees fit, to represent the special needs of the Nelson and Marlborough regions.

4. Staff members employed in excess of 100 hours per annum may not be appointed, elected or co-opted as members of the Council under paragraphs (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j) and (k) of clause 3.

5. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be two consecutive 4-year terms.

5. The powers of the Nelson Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

## **First Schedule**

5

The Electoral College of Marlborough, as referred to in subclause 3 (h) of this notice are as follows:

Marlborough District Council Nelson Marlborough Regional Council Marlborough Ports Authority Nelson Marlborough Area Health Board Marlborough Principals Association Boards of Trustees Association (Marlborough) Federated Farmers (Marlborough) Marlborough Grape Growers Association Marlborough Forest Owners Association Marlborough Vegetable Growers Association Marlborough Fruitgrowers Association Marlborough Chamber of Commerce Malborough Promotions Marlborough Business Development Board Combined Trade Unions Marlborough Unemployed Workers Union Marlborough REAC Womens Division Federated Farmers (Marlborough) National Organisation of Women Te Runanganui Te Tau Ihu o Te Waka a Maui Rangitane Runanga Maori Womens Welfare League IHC (Marlborough)