5

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go11762

# Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

#### Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Council which shall control the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic.
- 3. The Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
- (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Hawke's Bay Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Hawke's Bay Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Hawke's Bay Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Hawke's Bay Polytechnic who shall be appointed by the Executive of the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Students' Association and who shall represent the students of Hawke's Bay Polytechnic.
- (f) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Council after consultation with the Hawke's Bay Branch of the Wellington Regional Employers' Federation.
- (g) One member elected by Hawke's Bay District Professional Bodies as listed in the First Schedule to this notice.
- (h) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Council after consultation with the Hawke's Bay District Council of Trade Unions.
- (i) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay Regional Council.
- (j) One member elected by the Hawke's Bay Secondary Schools' Boards of Trustees as listed in the Second Schedule to this notice.
- (k) One member appointed by the Takitimu District Maori Council.
- (1) One member appointed by the Ikaroa Maori Women's Welfare League.
- (m) One member appointed by the Hawke's Bay Branch of Federated Farmers of New Zealand.
- (n) One member jointly by the Hawke's Bay and Tairawhiti Area Health Boards.
- (o) Up to 3 members to be co-opted by the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Council if and when it thinks fit taking into account the specific needs of the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic, its unique character, and the gender, ethnic and socio-economic composition of the Hawke's Bay community.
- 4. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive 4-year terms.

5. The powers of the Hawke's Bay Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

### First Schedule

The Professional Bodies as referred to in subclause 3 (g) to the notice are as follows:

Hawke's Bay Branch, New Zealand Society of Accountants The Hawke's Bay District Law Society

The New Zealand Institute of Management, Hawke's Bay Division (Inc)

Hawke's Bay Division, New Zealand Dental Association Medical Association of New Zealand, Hawke's Bay Division Hawke's Bay Branch, New Zealand Institute of Surveyors The Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (Inc) (Hawke's Bay Branch)

Hawke's Bay Branch of Quantity Surveyors Institute of New Zealand (Inc)

New Zealand Institute of Architects, Hawke's Bay Branch Hawke's Bay Branch Pharmaceutical Society of New Zealand New Zealand Nurses' Association (Inc) Napier Branch and Hastings Branch

Hawke's Bay Optometrical Association Post Primary Teachers' Association New Zealand Educational Institute

### Second Schedule

The Secondary Schools' Boards' of Trustees as referred to in subclause 3 (j) to the notice are as follows:

Central Hawke's Bay College Iona College Lindisfarne College Sacred Heart Girls' College St John's College St Joseph's Maori Girls' College Taradale High School Tamatea High School Te Aute College Wairoa College Napier Boys' High School Napier Girls' High School Colenso High School Havelock North High School Hastings Boys' High School Hastings Girls' High School Woodford House College Karamu High School

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go11764

## Central Institute of Technology Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

# Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Council of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki, which shall control the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki.
- 3. The Council of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki, shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
- (b) The Chief Executive Officer of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki.
  - (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of the