Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki elected by the permanent members of that staff.

- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) Two members who are or have been students of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki who shall represent the students of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki and who shall be appointed by the Executive of the Central Institute of Technology Students' Union.
- (f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Employers Federation
- (g) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One member appointed by the New Zealand Manufacturers' Federation Inc.
- (i) One member appointed by the Health Boards New Zealand (Inc).
- (j) One member appointed by the Secretary of Women's Affairs.
- (k) One member appointed by the General Manager of Te Tira Ahu Iwi.
  - (1) One member appointed by the Upper Hutt City Council.
- (m) One member appointed by the Hotel Association of New Zealand.
- (n) One member appointed by the Director-General of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.
- (q) Not more than two members co-opted by the Council itself, if and when it sees fit.
- 4. Employees of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki, may not be appointed as members of the Council under paragraphs (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m) and (n) of clause 3.
- 5. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive 4-year terms.

5. The powers of the Council of the Central Institute of Technology, Te Whare Wananga o Whirinaki shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. s go11769

## Telford Rural Polytechnic Notice No. 2 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

## Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Telford Rural Polytechnic Notice, No. 2 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the  $\it Gazette$ .
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Telford Rural Polytechnic Council which shall control the Telford Rural Polytechnic.
- 3. The Telford Rural Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
- (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Telford Rural Polytechnic.

- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Telford Rural Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Telford Rural Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Telford Rural Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Telford Rural Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of Telford Rural Polytechnic.
- (f) One member appointed by the Telford Rural Polytechnic Council after consultation with the New Zealand Employers' Federation.
- (g) One member appointed by the Telford Rural Polytechnic Council after consultation with the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One member who shall be resident in the province of Otago appointed by the Ngai Tahu Trust Board (Inc.).
- (i) One member who shall be resident in Otago or Southland appointed by the Board of Management of the National Council of Women of New Zealand (Inc).
- (j) Two members appointed by the Telford Farm Training Institute Board of Management constituted in terms of the Telford Farm Training Institute Act 1963.
- (k) One member appointed by the Federated Farmers of New Zealand (Otago Provincial District) Inc.
- (I) One member appointed by the Federated Farmers of New Zealand (Southland Provincial District) Inc.
  - (m) One member appointed by the Clutha District Council.
- 4. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be two consecutive 4-year terms.

5. The powers of the Telford Rural Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 19th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education.

## The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

## Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand Council which shall control The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand.
- 3. The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
- (b) The Chief Executive Officer of The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand elected by the permanent members of that staff.