AS 1896–1976: Method of test for ignition temperature of gases and vapours.

AS 1915–1983: Electrical equipment for explosive gas atmospheres—battery operated vehicles.

AS 2229: Electrical equipment for explosive atmospheres—electrical systems of dispensing equipment:

Part 1-1982: Flammable liquid dispensing equipment

Part 2-1988: Liquified petroleum gas dispensing equipment

AS 2238-1982 plus Amendment 1: Electrical equipment for explosive atmospheres—non-sparking apparatus—type of protection 'n'.

AS 2268-1979: Electrostatic paint and powder sprayguns for explosive atmospheres.

AS 2430: Classification of hazardous areas:

Part 1-1987: Explosive gas atmospheres

Part 2-1986: Combustible dusts

Part 3–1987: Specific occupancies.

Dated this 26th day of October 1990.

P. J. MORFEE, for Secretary of Commerce. go12038

Education

Education Amendment Act 1990

University of Otago Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the University of Otago Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a council to be known as the University of Otago Council which shall be the governing body of the University of Otago.
- 3. The University of Otago Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Otago.
- (c) Three permanent members of the academic staff of the University of Otago elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of the University of Otago elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) Two members who are or have been students of the University of Otago appointed by the Executive of the Otago University Students' Association Incorporated, or elected by the students of the University, as they decide.
- (f) One member appointed by the University of Otago Council after consultation with the central organisation of employers within the meaning of the Labour Relations Act 1987.
- (g) One member appointed by the University of Otago Council after consultation with the central organisation of workers within the meaning of the Labour Relations Act 1987.
- (h) One member, being a member of the Dunedin City Council, appointed by that council.
- (i) One member, who shall normally be the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Vice-Chancellor.

- (j) Two members co-opted by the University of Otago Council.
- (k) Three graduates elected by the Court of Convocation of the University of Otago.
- 4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Vice-Chancellor, shall be four consecutive four year terms.

5. The powers of the University of Otago Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go12023

5

Wellington Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Wellington Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a council to be known as the Wellington Polytechnic Council which shall control the Wellington Polytechnic.
- 3. The Wellington Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
 - (b) The Principal of the Wellington Polytechnic.
- (c) Two members of the permanent academic staff of the Wellington Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff
- (d) One member of the permanent general staff of the Wellington Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) Two members who are or have been students of the Wellington Polytechnic, elected by the students of Wellington Polytechnic.
- (f) Two members appointed by the Wellington Regional Employers Association (Inc.) after consultation with the New Zealand Employers Federation such member to represent those employers of the region who employ graduates from Wellington Polytechnic courses.
- (g) Two members appointed by the Wellington Regional Council of the Combined Trade Unions after consultation with the Combined Trade Unions such member to represent those Unions which give award coverage to graduates from Wellington Polytechnic courses.
- (h) One member appointed by the Wellington District Maori Council.
 - (i) One member appointed by the Wellington City Council.
- (j) One member appointed by the Wellington branch of the New Zealand Society of Accountants.
- (k) One member appointed by the New Zealand Nurses Association, Greater Wellington Regional Council, to represent the New Zealand Nurses Association in the greater Wellington region.
- (l) One member appointed by the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (Inc.), Wellington Branch.
- - (i) be reflective of vocational education needs of the various