5

- occupations in which graduates of Wellington Polytechnic obtain employment and which are not otherwise represented on the Council; or
- (ii) have a particular ability to make a contribution to the
- 4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173-176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive, shall be three consecutive four

5. The powers of the Wellington Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go12024

## Christchurch Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Christchurch Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette.
- 2. There shall be a council to be known as the Christchurch Polytechnic Council (Te Runanga Mananui o Te Whare Runanga o Otautahi) which shall control the Christchurch Polytechnic.
- 3. The Christchurch Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
  - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Christchurch Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Christchurch Polytechnic elected by the registered permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Christchurch Polytechnic elected by the registered permanent members of that staff.
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Christchurch Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Christchurch Polytechnic and who shall be appointed by the Executive of the Christchurch Polytechnic Students Association.
- (f) Two members appointed by the Canterbury Employers'
- (g) Two members appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One member elected by an electoral college comprising professional bodies within the Canterbury area set out in the first schedule to this notice.
- (i) One member appointed by the Runanga Matua of Christchurch Polytechnic who shall be a member of the Ngai Tahu.
- (j) One member appointed by the Runanga Matua of Christchurch Polytechnic who shall be a member of the taura
- (k) One member appointed by the Christchurch and North Canterbury branches of the National Council of Women of New Zealand.
- (1) One member appointed by the Disabled Persons Assembly (Christchurch and districts).
  - (m) One member elected by the Pacific Island community at

- an election to be organised by the Pacific Island Advisory Committee of Christchurch Polytechnic.
- (n) Two members co-opted by the Council if and when it
- 4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173-176 of the Education Amendment Act

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive four year terms.

5. The powers of the Christchurch Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

## First Schedule

The professional bodies referred to in subclause 3 (h) of this notice are as follows:

NZ Institute of Architects (Canterbury Branch)

The Institution of Professional Engineers of NZ (Canterbury

NZ Society of Accountants (Canterbury Westland)

NZ Institute of Quantity Surveyors (Canterbury Branch)

NZ Institute of Surveyors (Canterbury Branch)

NZ Educational Institute (Christchurch Branch)

NZ Institute of Science Technicians (Canterbury Branch)

NZ Society of Biomedical Technology (Christchurch)

Master Chefs Association (Canterbury Branch)

Canterbury District Law Society

NZ Company of Master Mariners (Christchurch Branch)

NZ Institute of Personnel Management (Canterbury Branch)

NZ Library Association (Canterbury Branch)

NZ Institute of Management (Canterbury Division)

NZ Medical Association (Canterbury Division)

NZ Real Estate Institute (Canterbury Westland District) NZ Society of Executive Secretaries (Christchurch group)

NZ Nurses' Association (Canterbury Branch).

Dated at Christchurch this 25th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education.

# Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the Gazette.
- 2. There shall be a council to be known as Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic Council which shall control the Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic.
- 3. The Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
- (b) The Chief Executive Officer of Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of the Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of the Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic.
  - (f) One member appointed by Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic