Council after consultation with the New Zealand Employers' Federation.

- (g) One member appointed by Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic Council after consultation with the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) Two members appointed by the Iwi Authority. (Until the Authority is established appointments are to be made by Ngai Tahu Trust Board, the interim Iwi Authority).
- (i) One member from the Buller Tai Poutini Polytechnic District.
- (j) One member from the Mt Victoria Tai Poutini Polytechnic District.
- (k) One member from the Grey Tai Poutini Polytechnic District.
- (I) One member from the Westland Tai Poutini Polytechnic District.
- (m) One member from the South Westland Tai Poutini Polytechnic District.
- The districts in 3 (i), (j), (k), (l), and (m) are defined in the First Schedule to this notice.

Nominations for 3 (i), (j), (k), (l), and (m) will be called for by public advertisement. If there is more than one nomination for any district, the appropriate district council will be asked to decide

- (n) Up to two members to be co-opted by Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic if and when it sees fit.
- 4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be two consecutive four year terms.

5. The powers of Te Tai Poutini Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

First Schedule

The districts referred to in subclauses 3 (i), (j), (k), (l), and (m) are as follows:

The Buller District being that part of the Buller Constituency of the West Coast region of the west of a line drawn from Croesus Knob to Wangapeka Saddle crossing the Buller River west of Berlins.

Mt Victoria District being the remainder of the said Buller constituency of the West Coast region to the east of a line drawn from Croesus Knob to Wangapeka Saddle crossing the Buller River west of Berlins.

The Grey District coinciding with the Grey constituency boundary of the West Coast region.

The Westland District to be that part of the Westland constituency of the West Coast region north of Mikonui River.

The South Westland District being the remainder of the Westland constituency of the West Coast region south of the Mikonui River.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go12026

Auckland College of Education Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

l. (a) This notice may be cited as the Auckland College of Education Notice 1990.

- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a council to be known as the Auckland College of Education Council which shall control the Auckland College of Education.
- 3. The Auckland College of Education Council shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
- (b) The Chief Executive Officer of the Auckland College of Education.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of the Auckland College of Education elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of the Auckland College of Education elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) Two members who are or have been students of the Auckland College of Education, who shall represent the students of the Auckland College of Education and who shall be appointed by the Executive of the Auckland College of Education Students' Association.
- (f) One member appointed by the Auckland Employers' Association Inc.
- (g) One member appointed by the NZ Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One member appointed by the NZ Post Primary Teachers' Association.
 - (i) One member appointed by the NZ Educational Institute.
- (j) One member appointed by the Combined Early Childhood Unions of Aotearoa.
- (k) One member appointed by the Council of the University of Auckland.
- (I) One permanent member of the academic staff of the Auckland College of Education elected by the members of the Auckland College of Education branch of the Association of Staff in Tertiary Education.
- (m) One member appointed by the NZ School Trustees Association, Auckland Region.
- (n) One member appointed by the Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs after consultation with the Auckland Pacific Island communities.
 - (o) Two Tangata Whenua members:
 - (i) one appointed by Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua
 - (ii) one appointed by Te Runanga o Ngapuhi and Te Aupouri Trust Boards.
- 4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive four year terms.

5. The powers of the Auckland College of Education Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

5

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go12028

5

Palmerston North College of Education Notice 1990

Te Kupenga O Te Matauranga

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.