5

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of October 1990. PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go12030

# Christchurch College of Education Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

#### Notice

1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Christchurch College of Education Notice 1990.

(b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.

2. There shall be a council to be known as the Christchurch College of Education Council which shall control the Christchurch College of Education.

3. The Christchurch College of Education Council shall be constituted as follows:

(a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.

(b) The Chief Executive Officer of the Christchurch College of Education.

(c) One permanent member of the academic staff of the Christchurch College of Education elected by the permanent members of that staff.

(d) One member of the permanent general staff of the Christchurch College of Education elected by the permanent members of that staff.

(e) One member who is or has been a student of the Christchurch College of Education, elected by the students of Christchurch College of Education and who shall be elected by the students of the Christchurch College of Education.

(f) One member appointed by the Christchurch College of Education Council after consultation with the central organisation of employers within the meaning of the Labour Relations Act 1987.

(g) One member appointed by the Christchurch College of Education Council after consultation with the central organisation of workers within the meaning of the Labour Relations Act 1987.

(h) One member elected by the Canterbury Primary Principals' Association.

(i) One member elected by the Canterbury, West Coast and North Otago Secondary Principals' Association.

(j) One member elected by the Head Teachers in early childhood education in Canterbury.

(k) One member appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Canterbury.

(I) Two members appointed by the local Maori communities, with one from the Ngai Tahu Trust Board.

(m) Up to four members co-opted by the Christchurch College of Education Council.

4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive four year terms.

5. The powers of the Christchurch College of Education Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of October 1990.

PHIL GOFF, Minister of Education. go12031

## **Dunedin College of Education Notice 1990**

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Amendment Act 1990, the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

## Notice

1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Dunedin College of Education Notice 1990.

(b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.

2. There shall be a council to be known as the Dunedin College of Education Council which shall control the Dunedin College of Education.

3. The Dunedin College of Education Council shall be constituted as follows:

(a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.

(b) The Chief Executive Officer of the Dunedin College of Education.

(c) One permanent member of the academic staff of the Dunedin College of Education elected by the permanent members of that staff.

(d) One permanent member of the general staff of the Dunedin College of Education elected by the permanent members of that staff.

(e) One member who is or has been a student of the Dunedin College of Education who shall represent the students of Dunedin College of Education and who shall be appointed by the Executive of the Dunedin College of Education Association of Students.

(f) One member appointed by the Dunedin College of Education Council after consultation with the New Zealand Employers Federation.

(g) One member appointed by the Dunedin College of Education Council after consultation with the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions.

(h) One member being a member of the Council of the University of Otago, or, of the Senate of that University, appointed by the Council of the University of Otago.

(i) One member being a member of the Otago Polytechnic Council appointed by that Council.

(j) One member appointed by the Otago and Southland Maori Community.

(k) One member appointed jointly by the employers of the teacher graduates as listed in the First Schedule to this notice.

(1) One member appointed jointly by the unions representing teacher graduates as listed in the Second Schedule to this notice.

(m) Up to five members co-opted by the Dunedin College of Education Council if and when it thinks fit taking into account the specific needs of the Dunedin College of Education, its unique character, and the gender, ethnic and socio-economic composition of the Otago Southland community.

4. The term of office of members of the council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act 1990.

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be three consecutive four year terms.

5. The powers of the Dunedin College of Education Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

## First Schedule

5

The Employers of Teachers Graduates as referred to in clause 3 (k) of this notice are as follows:

School Trustees Association (Otago) School Trustees Association (Southland) Kindergarten Associations (Otago)