Defence

Defence Act 1990

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 32 of the Defence Act 1990, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

Graduates—Royal Military College, Duntroon

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Royal Military College, Duntroon, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in the Corps shown, with seniority from 27 December 1989 and effect from 27 June 1990:

Michael William Beale, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Grant Andrew Motley, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps.

David William Riley, N.Z. Intelligence Corps.

Graduates—Officer Cadet School

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in the Corps shown, with seniority and effect from 21 June 1990:

Toby Nesbit Bach, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Stephen Charles Challies, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Kent William Collard, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals.

Matthew John Duigan, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Christopher John Fitzwater, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Jacqueline Lee Elma Gibson, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport. Benjamin Robert John Green, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery.

Christopher John Griffin, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps.

Kim Marie Macfarlane, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals.

Roger George Margetts, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Robert Neil Te Moana, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Guy Temple White, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport.

Mark Anaru Wirihana, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport.

Colonels' List

The following temporary Brigadiers to be Brigadier with seniority and effect from 25 April 1990, and are transferred to the Brigadiers' List:

E. B. Bestic.

P. M. Reid.

Colonel T. D. McBeth is re-engaged until 13 May 1996.

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant Colonel Ronald James Turner is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, with effect from 29 June 1990.

Temporary Lieutenant Colonel I. A. J. Marshall, B.SC.(MIL.), to be Lieutenant Colonel with seniority from 10 September 1989, effect from 1 June 1990, and is re-engaged until 27 December 2003.

Temporary Major Richard Ian Catto, M.B.A., B.A., is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, with effect from 16 May 1990. Lieutenant and Quartermaster B. S. Frances to be temporary Captain and Quartermaster with effect from 12 June 1990.

Lieutenant A. M. Woodham to be temporary Captain with effect from 19 June 1990.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 June 1990:

S. L. Bassett.

I. W. Cotton.

D. G. Ritchie.

Supernumerary List

Captain and Quartermaster Alan Albert Mitchell is posted to the Retired List with effect from 16 June 1990.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Temporary Lieutenant Colonel N. J. Reilly to be Lieutenant Colonel with seniority from 17 August 1989 and effect from 1 June 1990.

Captain B. F. Sim to be temporary Major with effect from 9 April 1990.

Temporary Captain M. A. Armour to be Captain with seniority from 8 June 1990 and effect from 28 June 1990.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 June 1990:

K. H. Groot.

A. W. Wilson.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Temporary Lieutenant Colonel J. S. Hollander to be Lieutenant Colonel with seniority from 21 December 1989, effect from 1 June 1990, and is re-engaged until 15 May 1993.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority from 20 June 1990 and effect from the date shown:

R. J. Buttenshaw, 21 June 1990.

D. P. Karam, 20 June 1990.

Supernumerary List

The engagement of Major B. A. Stewart, $\ensuremath{\text{M.B.E.}},$ is extended until 30 June 1992.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Temporary Lieutenant Colonel P. D. Ross to be Lieutenant Colonel with seniority from 1 December 1989, effect from 1 June 1990, and is re-engaged until 13 June 1998.

Captain Gayle Shirley Dickie is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, with effect from 10 June 1990.

Lieutenant G. J. White to be temporary Captain with effect from 19 June 1990.

2nd Lieutenant M. W. Taylor to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 June 1990.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Temporary Colonel P. O. Maguire to be Colonel with seniority and effect from 17 April 1990, and is transferred to the Colonels' List.

Acting Colonel J. R. Webb relinquishes his acting rank with effect from 1 July 1990.

Temporary Lieutenant Colonel P. F. Koorey to be Lieutenant Colonel with seniority from 7 December 1989, effect from 1 June 1990, and is re-engaged until 27 October 1998.

Major R. Bywater-Lutman, DIP.SC.(MIL.), to be temporary Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 22 May 1990.

The following temporary Lieutenant Colonels to be Lieutenant Colonel with seniority from the date shown and effect from 1 June 1990: