2nd Lieutenant Richard Joseph Graeme Turner resigns his commission with effect from 9 February 1990.

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from the date shown:

Rodger John McLeod, 26 November 1989.

Sara Jane Fredericks, 28 February 1990.

Arlene Loretta Scrimgeour, 11 April 1990.

### Extra Regimental Employment

Headquarters Land Force Command

Captain Paul Anthony Brown, RNZDC, is posted to the Retired List with effect from 21 February 1990.

Headquarters 3rd Task Force

Major John James Lane, E.D., RNZAC, is posted to the Retired List with effect from 15 November 1988.

Captain Ian Murray Lattimore, RNZIR, is transferred from the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with seniority from 20 December 1987 and effect from 24 January 1990.

# SPECIAL SERVICE LIST OF THE ARMY RESERVE

Major William Bruce Cobb, RNZE, is posted to the Retired List with effect from 30 June 1990.

### **ARMY RESERVE**

## Regimental List of Officers

2nd (GH) Field Hospital, RNZAMC

Captain Mary Eva Boddington, DIP.N., RNZNC, is posted to the Retired List with effect from 20 March 1990.

### General List of Officers

The following are posted to the Retired List with effect from the date shown:

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Lieutenant Colonel Michael Edward Rumble, M.SC., 21 June 1990.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Temporary Captain Bruce Thomas Kingston, B.A., 4 June 1990 (in the rank of Captain).

Lieutenant Michael Geoffrey Cotterill, 17 February 1990.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain Murray Frederick Brennan, B.SC., M.B., CH.B., F.R.A.C.S., 3 April 1990.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Major Joseph Seymour Bolton, 30 July 1990.

Royal N.Z. Nursing Corps

Lieutenant Colonel Elizabeth Jane Jollands, 4 March 1990.

Captain Marlene Ena McDowall, 23 June 1990.

Dated at Wellington this 15th day of November 1990.

WARREN COOPER, Minister of Defence.

# **Education**

### **Education Act 1989**

# Waiariki Polytechnic Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Act 1989 (as inserted by section 37 of the Education Amendment Act 1990), the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

### Notice

- 1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Waiariki Polytechnic Notice 1990.
- (b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council to be known as the Waiariki Polytechnic Council which shall control the Waiariki Polytechnic.
- 3. The Waiariki Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:
  - (a) Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
  - (b) The Chief Executive Officer of the Waiariki Polytechnic.
- (c) One permanent member of the academic staff of Waiariki Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (d) One permanent member of the general staff of Waiariki Polytechnic elected by the permanent members of that staff.
- (e) One member who is or has been a student of Waiariki Polytechnic who shall represent the students of Waiariki Polytechnic and who shall be appointed by the Waiariki Polytechnic Students' Association.
- (f) One employer representative appointed by the Auckland Employers Association of the New Zealand Employers Federatiom Inc.
- (g) One employee representative appointed by the Bay of Plenty District Council of Trade Unions.
- (h) One iwi representative appointed by the Maori Women's Welfare League (Inc.).
- (i) Two iwi representatives appointed through Te Mana Matauranga.
- (j) One member appointed by the South Waikato District Council.
  - (k) One member appointed by the Taupo District Council.
- (1) One member appointed by the Whakatane District Council.
- (m) One rural member appointed by the Rotorua Taupo Province Inc. of the New Zealand Federated Farmers in consultation with the Provincial Women's Division of Federated Farmers and the Country Women's Institute.
- (n) One Tourism Industry representative appointed by the Waiariki Polytechnic Tourism Advisory Committee.
- (o) One Forestry Industry representative to be appointed by the NZ Forest Owners' Association.
- (p) One member elected by the Boards of Trustees of the secondary schools listed in the First Schedule to this notice.

All members appointed under paragraphs (f)–(p) of this clause shall be resident in the region serviced by the Polytechnic.

4. The term of office of members of the Council, vacation of office, disclosure of members' interest and casual vacancies are covered in sections 173–176 of the Education Amendment Act

Subject to section 173, the maximum term for any member, other than the Chief Executive Officer, shall be four consecutive 4 year terms.

5. The powers of the Waiariki Polytechnic Council shall not be affected by vacancy in the membership thereof.

### First Schedule

121

The Boards of Trustees referred to in sub-clause (3) (p) of this notice are as follows:

Rotorua Girls' High School Rotorua Boys' High School Rotorua Lakes High School Western Heights High School John Paul College