Access Councils established by notice, dated on the 22nd day of September 1988^* .

The councils which are disestablished by this notice are as follows:

Northland

Auckland/Takapuna.

Manukau.

Waikato-Thames Valley.

Bay of Plenty.

East Coast.

Tongariro.

Hawke's Bay.

Taranaki.

Wanganui.

Manawatu.

Horowhenua.

Wairarapa.

Wellington.

Nelson Bays.

Marlborough.

Canterbury.

Aorangi.

Otago.

Southland.

West Coast

This notice revokes the earlier notice dated on the 22 nd day of September 1988^{\bullet} .

This notice shall take effect on the day after the date of notification in the *Gazette*.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of December 1990.

LOCKWOOD SMITH, Minister of Education.

*New Zealand Gazette, 29 September 1988, No. 164, page 3861. go13872

Education Act 1989

The Hamilton Teachers College (Disestablishment, and Incorporation in University of Waikato) Order 1990

CATHERINE A. TIZARD, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 17th day of December 1990

Present

HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 164 of the Education Act 1989, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

Order

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Hamilton Teachers College (Disestablishment, and Incorporation in University of Waikato) Order 1990.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the 1st day of January 1991.
- 2. Hamilton Teachers College disestablished, and incorporated in University of Waikato—The college of education that, immediately before the commencement of this order, was known as the Hamilton Teachers College—
 - (a) Is hereby disestablished; and

(b) Is hereby incorporated in the University of Waikato. MARIE SHROFF, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory Note

This note is not part of the order but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order, which comes into force on 1 January 1991, disestablishes Hamilton Teachers College and incorporates it in the University of Waikato, $_{\rm go13881}$

University of Auckland Notice 1990

Pursuant to section 168 of the Education Act 1989 (as inserted by section 37 of the Education Amendment Act 1990) the Minister of Education gives the following notice:

Notice

- 1. (i) This notice may be cited as the constitution of the University of Auckland Council Notice 1990.
- (ii) The notice shall come into force on the day after its publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. There shall be a Council, to be known as the Council of the University of Auckland, which shall control the University of Auckland.
- 3. The Council of the University of Auckland shall be constituted as follows:
 - (a) Four persons appointed by the Minister of Education;
- (b) The Vice-Chancellor by virtue of his/her holding office as the Chief Executive Officer of the University;
- (c) One person being a permanent member of the academic staff to be elected by the permanent members of that staff;
- (d) One person being a permanent member of the General Staff elected by the permanent members of that staff;
- (e) One person who is or has been a student of the University who;
 - (i) (If the Students of the University so decide) shall be appointed by the Executive of the Auckland University Students' Association;

or

- (ii) (If the Students do not so decide) shall be elected by the students.
- (f) One person appointed by the Council after consultation with the New Zealand Employers' Federation;
 (g) One person appointed by the Council after consultation
- with the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions; (h) Pursuant to paragraph (b) of subsection (3) of section
- 171, the following two persons:(i) the person holding office for the time being as Deputy
 - Vice-Chancellor,
 (ii) the President for the time being of the Auckland
- University Students' Association,
 (i) Pursuant to paragraph (c) of subsection (3) of section 171 the following five persons:
 - (i) one member of the Senate being a Professor to be elected by the members of Senate;
 - (ii) one member of the Senate being a Lecturer to be elected by the Lecturers;
 - (iii) three persons to be elected by the Court of Convocation for the University;
- (j) Pursuant to paragraph (a) of subsection (3) such number of persons (not exceeding three) as the Council from time to time thinks fit; to be appointed by the Council, each to hold office for such period not exceeding 4 years as the Council determines in relation to that person on the occasion of his or her appointment;