NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Defence

Defence Act 1990

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 32 of the Defence Act 1990, Her Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

Appointments to Commission

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster, with seniority from 15 August 1988 and effect from the date shown:

Warrant Officer Class I Garry Donald Manley, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, 7 January 1991.

Warrant Officer Class II Ian Kossuth Newman, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, 7 January 1991.

Warrant Officer Class I Rhys Edmund Montgomery, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps, 8 April 1991.

Graduates-Royal Military College, Duntroon

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Royal Military College, Duntroon, and are appointed to commissions in the order and Corps shown in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 12 December 1989 and effect from 12 December 1990:

Patrick Bernard Crofskey, N.Z. Intelligence Corps.

Michael John Shatford, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Stephen Andrew Taylor, N.Z. Intelligence Corps.

Ross Neil Tucker, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Andrew John Turley, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.

Graduates—Officer Cadet School

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in the Corps shown, with seniority and effect from 12 December 1990:

Theodore Alexopoulos, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Amanda Jane Anderson, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals.

Matthew John Boggs, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery.

Helen Joy Cooper, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport.

Bradley Ian Gallop, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Nicholas John Gillard, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery.

Joanne Michelle Gutry, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

Todd Gregory Hart, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.

Duncan James McEwan, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Brenda 'Ofa Mafile'o, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport.

Graeme Samuel Moscrip, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport.

Kelvin Manaia Ross, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Nicholas Geoffrey Speight, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Aaron Bruce Thomas, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

Jason Dean Vlaar, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Timothy James Wheeler, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport.

Generals' List

Lieutenant General Sir John Airth Mace, K.B.E., C.B., is posted to the Retired List with effect from 29 March 1991.

Brigadiers' List

Brigadier P. M. Reid is re-engaged until 27 November 1997.

Colonels' List

Colonel Robert Neil Upton, M.B.E., DIP.SC.(MIL.), is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, with effect from 1 December 1990.

Colonel J. A. Fisher, O.B.E. is re-engaged until 30 May 1996.

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Major P. S. Southwell to be temporary Lieutenant Colonel with effect from 10 December 1990.

The following are re-engaged until the date shown:

Major G. R. Williams, 29 September 1997.

Captain S. D. Newman, B.A., 13 March 2005.

Temporary Captain B. J. Lyons to be Captain with seniority from 20 December 1990 and effect from 10 June 1991.

Lieutenant D. A. Rushton, B.A., to be temporary Captain with effect from 1 May 1991.

2nd Lieutenant B. J. Rankin to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1990.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Captain R. R. Jones, B.A.(MIL.), to be temporary Major with effect from 7 February 1990.

Captain Kerry Owen Boyd is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, with effect from 15 December 1990.

Temporary Captain P. W. van den Broek to be Captain with seniority and effect from 20 December 1990.

The following Lieutenants to be temporary Captain with effect from the date shown:

D. J. Strong, B.A., 14 December 1990.

G. D. Tetzlaff, 20 December 1990.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Major T. E. Jones is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 16 December 1990.

Acting Major N. K. Gattsche, N.Z.C.D., to be temporary Major with effect from 18 February 1991.

Captain R. P. Cassidy to be acting Major with effect from 6 May 1991.

Temporary Captain C. D. Birch to be Captain with seniority from 20 December 1990 and effect from 20 May 1991.

Temporary Captain S. H. Reynolds to be Captain with seniority and effect from 9 February 1991, and is re-engaged until 9 October 2004.

Temporary Captain and Quartermaster Philip Gordon Packer is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, with effect from 12 January 1991.

Lieutenant D. N. Baxter to be temporary Captain with effect from 4 February 1991.

The following 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 20 December 1990:

G. P. Brosnan.

M. J. Donoghue.

T. D. West.

Supernumerary List

The engagements of the following Quartermasters are extended until the date shown:

Major J. L. C. Alabaster, 16 August 1995.

Captain J. W. Lock, 24 June 1993.