NZLII [Home] [Databases] [WorldLII] [Search] [Feedback]

New Zealand Law Commission

You are here:  NZLII >> Databases >> New Zealand Law Commission >> Report >> R43 >> Directory

[Database Search] [Name Search] [Previous] [Next] [Download] [Help]


THE LAW COMMISSION is an independent, publicly funded, central advisory body established by statute to undertake the systematic review, reform and development of the law of New Zealand. Its purpose is to help achieve law that is just, principled, and accessible, and that reflects the heritage and aspirations of the peoples of New Zealand.

In developing its proposals, the Commission recognises the Treaty of Waitangi as the founding document of New Zealand, and takes account of community and international experience.

The members of the Law Commission, appointed under s 9 of the Law Commission Act 1985, are:

Hon Justice Baragwanath – President
Leslie H Atkins QC (term finished 31 August 1997)
Joanne Morris OBE
Judge Margaret Lee
DF Dugdale
Denese Henare ONZM
Timothy Brewer ED (from 1 October 1997)

Address Details

The office of the Law Commission is located at

Level 10, 89 The Terrace, Wellington

The postal address is PO Box 2590, Wellington, DX SP23534

Telephone: (04) 473 3453, Fax: (04) 471 0959


Information about the Law Commission and its work is available via the Internet from the NZ Government Online site:


The Law Commission is funded from money appropriated by Parliament through Vote:Justice.

Mäori Committee

The Mäori Committee to the Law Commission facilitates the Commission’s consultation with Mäori, assists the Commission in identifying projects to advance te ao Mäori, and helps in achieving a reflection of te ao Mäori in its work. The members are:

Rt Rev Bishop Manuhuia Bennett ONZ CMG
Judge MJA Brown CNZM
Chief Judge ETJ Durie
Professor Mason Durie
Archie Taiaroa
Whëtu Weretä

NZLII: Copyright Policy | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | Feedback